Old dog, New tricks

Old Dog

 

I’m an old dog. But one which just learned new tricks. Pauline already had her FB account before HI201, I didn’t. Now I do, along with twitter, a Slideshare account and a WordPress blog thanks to Prof. Iris. Of the four, I am most fond of my blog site.

WordPress gave me the opportunity to put my thoughts into words and have these words be read. The blogs, with each week’s driving question enabled me to focus my learning. It’s an eye opener for me. The power of social media is something which I have yet to fully utilize. If I put more effort, I could probably reach out to have more people read whatever it is that I have to say. As is, I fear the comment of a mentor of mine – Always have substance in what you say, do not suffer from “a diarrhea of words but a constipation of ideas.” With this in mind, I set out to write my blogs.

It was uplifting to have some interaction from several people because of what I’ve written or presented. In my blog, “Building the foundation for sustainability” Eva said, “Clear, concise and direct to the point. Easy to understand.” In my Slideshare presentation, “Challenges of implementing EHR in a private hospital” Grace said, “Nice presentation, could relate even as end user.” In my blog, “Gear up for change”, Wendi said, “There is hope for health informatics in our country” because of the statistics that I presented. In my blog, “What’s in it for me?” Prof. Iris said, “Yup, that question needs answering.” After reading my blog about a health game app, Sid said it was a nice idea and that he’s “thinking of mashing experienced game developers with health professionals.” I received several likes for my posts from classmates JayC, Wendi, Lyndon, Pauline and Arjhei as well as Prof. Iris and Prof. Eloy. But I also got some from people who were not classmates, namely Raymonde Uy, Philip Sales and Tony Evangelista. In the Basecamp discussion with Prof. Mike, I asked, “Has there been any well documented research that demonstrates that EHR implementation improves clinical results in patient care?” I ended up answering my own question thru a journal review and got a thumbs up from Prof. Mike because of the effort.

On my part, I commented that I liked how Burr is able to put his experiences as a nurse in an IT department into the discussion of the various topics. This is the gist of how graduate studies should be – the sharing of one’s experiences for everyone to learn from. This is what separates us from college students, a wealth of experience and practical knowledge that we could share to put realities into theoretical discussions. I also commented on a post of Wendi about how I agreed with her regarding design-reality gaps and a diagram of hers which gave me an “aha” moment, her simplified diagram of health informatics, eHealth and global health. In a blog post, Pauline and I had a discussion about not being into games. Her blog mentioned about the ills of video game playing on eyesight, but I can see video games helping out athletes. I pose this question, “Is there any medical condition in which video games could be used by your patients to develop focusing ability, hand eye coordination and peripheral vision or does it always lead to eye strain?”

Here’s a shot of my Slideshare stats to document my interaction in this area. Most of the views I received were from my discussion on interoperability of disparate information systems. I did some research and made a diagram as to the methods that could be applied for different systems to talk to each other.

 

Stats

 

As I’ve mentioned earlier, I espouse the idea of the KISS principle – keep it simple stupid. In one of my blogs I quoted Einstein, “If you can’t explain it simply, you don’t understand it well enough.” We were asked to use mind maps early on and I continued to use mind maps even when I was not required to do so. My mind maps were my personal thoughts, not ones which I found on textbooks. They enabled me to put it all out there and at the same time gather all my thoughts so that I could explain them simply. What I found after several posts was that if you asked me to put all my mind maps in one big sheet I could connect all the dots with some alterations. I could sum up everything I learned in this one semester in one big mind map!

It has been a fruitful semester for me. If I could make a suggestion to Prof. Iris, why not make a compilation of the most thought-provoking blogs of MSHI students past and present? If I have a fault, it would be that I did not have the time to read all of my classmates posts due to time constraints. Given more time, I would. Not being social media savvy and partly because I’m OC, I was even averse to posting comments without first figuring out where the edit button was.

During the semester, Peter and I came upon a word which got me thinking, “metacognition.” Its definition is “a higher-order thinking that enables understanding, analysis, and control of one’s cognitive processes, especially when engaged in learning.” I’d like to achieve that status. I do recall some posts of Franco and Prof. Iris about learning which I found interesting. Graduate studies is about self-directed learning. In some ways, I found it to be “learning for learning’s sake” yet learning with a goal in mind. In my Slideshare, I posted, “Never ending student of life’s lessons.” We are all students and will remain to be.

Leave a Reply

